Bicycling in New Jersey is regulated under Title 39 of the Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation laws.
Every person riding a bicycle should ride in the same direction as vehicular traffic. In New Jersey, the law states a bicyclist must obey all state and local automobile driving laws.
- To make a left turn from a left turn lane or pocket;
- To avoid debris, drains, or other hazardous conditions on the right;
- To pass a slower moving vehicle;
- To occupy any available lane when traveling at the same speed as other traffic;
- To travel no more than two abreast when traffic is not impeded, but otherwise ride in single file.
Every person riding a bicycle on a roadway shall ride as near to the right roadside as practicable exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction. A bicyclist may move left under any of the following conditions:
39:4-11 AUDIBLE SIGNAL
A bicycle must be equipped with a bell or other audible device that can be heard at least 100 feet away, but not a siren or whistle.
39:4-10 LIGHTS ON BICYCLES
When in use at nighttime every bicycle shall be equipped with: 1) A front headlamp emitting a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front; 2) A rear lamp emitting a red light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the rear; 3) In addition to the red lamp a red reflector may be mounted on the rear.
For more New Jersey laws on bicycling, please visit NJ DOT’s Bicycling Regulations page.
NEW JERSEY’S SAFE PASSING LAW
NEW JERSEY’S SAFE PASSING LAW went into effect on March 1, 2022. Drivers are required to use “due caution” whenever they encounter vulnerable people on the road, meaning:
- Drivers must move over a lane (if there’s one to move into) while following all current no-passing and no speeding laws.
- On a single-lane road, drivers must provide a distance of at least 4 feet to safely pass a vulnerable road user.
- If 4 feet is not possible, drivers must slow to 25 mph and be prepared to stop until they can pass safely without endangering those sharing the road.
Violating the law results in a $100 fine (causing bodily injury results in a $500 fine and 2 motor vehicle points).